Blobeye Xenon Headlights

Search this Thread

Old 02 May 2013, 01:59 PM
luke106plyr
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blobeye Xenon Headlights

Hi guys

This question has probably been asked a thousand times before but I can't seem to find anything difinitive sorry!

I really like the look of 'modern cars' with DRLs and the bright white lights at night (I assume xenons, correct me if I'm wrong!) and want to convert my blobeye to the same. Some obvious questions really:

1. What do I actually need to do this?!
2. What is a 'projector headlight'?
3. I have heard about issues with the adjustable height headlights and MOTs (if that makes sense?!)
4. If I convert, will sidelight, dipped beam and main beam be converted or is it three separate things and will it be too much hassle?
5. Anything obvious I may have forgotten to ask!

Apologies for sounding dumb I'm new to this stuff and hoping for some help if possible!

Thanks

Luke
Old 02 May 2013, 05:44 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Where to start?

OK: DRL's..they are an abomination and the work of the devil. They either look girly or are stupidly blinding at dawn/dusk. Or both!
There, that's got that off my chest, now we can continue

On a blob, the headlights have a separate bulb for each function, two 55W halogen bulbs for main, two for dip, (obviously, one per side), and two 5W sidelights.

Leaving sidelights alone, at the moment, yes you can put HID's into the lights, one set for main, one for dip, or just do the dips, or just the mains etc etc. Even do one set, see how you like it, then one next month. It's your choice. But DON'T buy the cheapest kit you can find, it's false economy. Try and get branded stuff, Hella, Philips, Morimoto, etc.

BUT: They SHOULD now be an MoT fail, since the bulb and light unit no longer match.

The H4 ones are cr@p...no other word for it, but the single filament ones, like yours, can be fine. It's mostly down to beam pattern, and they do OK.