ICE Newbie sub-woofer question

Search this Thread

Old 22 March 2002, 11:11 AM
BugEyed
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi

I am an ICE Newbie, but after Chiarks' article in True Grip have decided to do something about the unit in my MY01. I've sorted my choice of head unit and speakers, but am confused about the options for a sub-woofer.

I don't fancy having a large box in the boot of my car to mount the sub-woofer in. Do I have any other options;
  • could I mount it in the rear parcel shelf?
  • could I mount it in the spare wheel well?
  • any other ideas?

TIA

Duncan
Old 22 March 2002, 12:35 PM
Adam M
Scooby Regular

all these set ups are a compromise.

spare wheel subwoofers would be better custom amde with a decent make of sub instead of pioneer.

Parecl shelf mounted units are free air, and never generate the noise people are really after.

You would be surprised the bass you can get out of a small box sub, I would consider an 8 in a small box (the size of two yellow pages) and stick it in the corner. If you choose a decent make (not JL 8w6) such as a petras, or veritas, you can get some very decent bass.
Old 22 March 2002, 12:36 PM
nom
Scooby Senior

Umm, no, not in the parcel shelf
You can get ones that go in the spare wheel, but they tend to be not as good as 'real' ones (but a big improvement on nothing!)
AutoAcoustics - can't remember the website - do a fibreglass thing that fints in the right-hand wheel arch. Although only for the 'classic' at the moment, I think they were working on a fitment for the new ones. Might be ready too?
Old 22 March 2002, 01:19 PM
GavinP
Scooby Regular

Question

Duncan,

I have a set of Kenwood 17cm mid/subwoofers mounted in the rear deck and they add some bass but it is not a "night and day" difference (although they are running off-of the head unit).

I also read Chiark's article and was wondering whether something like this is worthwhile ?

http://www.v-i-b-e.com/vibehtml/combo-1.html