Notices
ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

Few Questions...Install help please......

Search this Thread

Old 16 March 2007, 10:37 AM
dazzler1
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Few Questions...Install help please......

Hi guys, i have searches through the "Sticky" thread and i have found some very useful info on there, but there are a few questions that i could do with answers to before i start my install.....you will have to bare with me as im a bit of a novice with this sort of thing........(by the way its a UK STI 03)

1, i have an Alpine CDA 9847R Head Unit, and i cant get the darn thing out....so firstly how do i do this?

2, I read that there is a rubber bung where the aircon goes through in the engine bay which i have to use to get the "positive" cable through to the cabin....Is this hard to get to?, is it still ok to use with aircon installed?, and do i take it out from the engine bay side?

3, I am gonna have a go at building my own base box as i need plenty of space in the boot (near the opening)......I have 2 x 12" Alpine typeS subs......how much volume does the actual box supposed to have?, does it need to be ported?, And also, does it really matter which way the subs are facing?

4, I have a Kenwood 600watt amp to run the subs, and i have also bought a 1farrad capacitor....The Amp is going in the boot so where is a good place for the Earth cable?, And also what is the wiring sequence for the capacitor?

5, Finally, i have read that a good upgrage for the front speakers are the Infinity 6010cs......but when i looked on ebay to purchase some, there were 2 reputable businesses selling them, one said they were 6" and the other said they were 6.5"......Which is correct ones to go for?