ICE Serious sounds for serious cars.

To Amp or not to Amp??

Search this Thread

Old 11 February 2006, 09:47 PM
WRX300MAN
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question To Amp or not to Amp??

Greeting and salutations o worthy followers of the Scoobynet!

I have a question that I was too embarassed to ask since the day I joined the forum! . . . When I bought my CAR, first thing I did was install a Boy Racer Stereo (a JVC with cartoons graphics and the rest of it!) . .Few months down the line installed a some boy racer ALPINE spekers 4 x 200w . . .Playing and modifying the ICE system is a really slippery slope - especially as I love my chuwns!

I am now considering installing an AMP and a subwoofer!

Just the following questions please. . . . .

1) Will taking this course of action make me/my car chavy>

2) On a more serious note . .I have no experience in this field so have to ask what is good to get and at a resonable price! (will it make my car go faster???) . .Is this generally a good idea as i hear unconfirmed story's of subwoofers having a bad effect on the structure of the car as its being pounded by low frequency's

Many thanks!

Last edited by WRX300MAN; 11 February 2006 at 11:07 PM.
Old 11 February 2006, 10:25 PM
320bhp
Scooby Regular

Firstly, installing a sub wont damage the car at all. The only affect it will have is weigh the car down.

Now, on what to buy? It all depends on your preferance, personaly id go for a 10" sub with a sutable amp top power it, this would give plenty of bass with out being over the top. Sony do good subs without being expencive. I hope this helps you a little.
Old 11 February 2006, 11:25 PM
hades
Scooby Regular