Questions about clutch + suspension

Search this Thread

Old 03 December 2010, 12:02 AM
Ross UK300
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about clutch + suspension

Hi all,

Couple of questions.. I have a 2002 bug STI Type UK with PPP.. I notice that in some gears, especially in sixth, that the clutch slips real easily if I put the pedal to the floor at low(ish) (2.5-4k) RPM.. Is this usual because of the amount of power, maybe the current weather conditions etc..? Or would it be a good idea to get the clutch checked out?

Second... sometimes feels like I'm driving with flat tyres. Only at sloowwwwww speeds, and only when turning. Could be the bushes, ball joints, or a bunch of other things I guess.. again, is there a likelihood that it'll be something in particular? Common fault with the bushes for example?

I've got a basic bit of knowledge about mechanics, but I'm no expert, so help is much appreciated!! Cheers!
Old 03 December 2010, 12:04 AM
Pink_Floyd
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like your clutch is gone mate, that sort of behaviour in 6th is classic symptoms I'm afraid.
Old 03 December 2010, 12:13 AM
Ross UK300
Scooby Regular

Doh! Fortunately I have 5 months of warranty left and clutch is covered! Phew.. I'll get onto them tomorrow. Thanks Floyd!
Old 03 December 2010, 12:16 AM
Pink_Floyd
Scooby Regular

Hopefully you'll get it sorted, that said clutches are not normally covered beyond things like the pressure plate breaking up so a slipping clutch might not be warranted. You never know though. Who's the warranty with??
Old 06 December 2010, 08:44 PM
Ross UK300
Scooby Regular

Clutch has become worse over the past few days, doh! Warranty is with a third party company, can't remember the name at the moment. I'm actually thinking about calling the dealer to request a return and refund (SOGA yada yada).. pain in the ***!