Notices

sport-turbo conversion

Search this Thread

Old 03 March 2010, 03:37 AM
Ryanerak
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sport-turbo conversion

Hi, im thinking of doing a sti conversion to a classic sport and basically would like to know what parts i'll need to do it. Things im thinking i'll need are
Engine
Gearbox
Propshaft
Driveshafts
Ecu
Engine Loom
What other things will i need? any advice on what parts to use i.e what model engine, gearbox etc Im new to subaru's so most definatly ready to get learning! Overall plan for the car is to get it to around 300bhp or so, coilovers, uprated brakes. basically a fast road / lightly tracked car.

Ryan
Old 03 March 2010, 03:52 AM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Keep the shell, replace everything else, does that make sense? or in other words, its not worth the effort as its cheaper to buy a turbo

Tony
Old 03 March 2010, 04:01 AM
Ryanerak
Scooby Newbie

Gone

Last edited by Ryanerak; 03 March 2010 at 10:56 PM.
Old 03 March 2010, 04:47 AM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It will cost you as much if not more with a converted sport as they will mark down every modification, eg brakes, engine, exhaust, wheels etc as they are not standard and that will probably add up to far more than that of a standard turbo
Buying a sport and converting it will set you back thousands of pounds in parts then add the labour charges and you may well need an ESVA cert/test, its just not worth it.

Tony
Old 03 March 2010, 07:04 AM
DJ_Jon
911 C4 pilot

Tony, I think what our little chum is trying to say is, he wants to drop the STi running gear into his sport & not tell the insurance company.

Corsa's with undeclared 2 litre red tops are so 2005, sport impreza's with turbo running gear is where its at if you like defrauding your insurance comany.