What should i do?

Search this Thread

Old 29 August 2007, 10:48 AM
apalmer
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should i do?

Hi Guys

I'm new to the scoobie world and have been using this site nearly every day since i joined it a week or two ago so thanks for that. I have just bought a MY00 STIVI and it is a great low mileage example.

My question is the following:

I'm running the car on 99RON from tesco's at the moment (go on tesco's with the high octane) and the car is 100% original with no mods. Just ordered a load of service parts from "scoobyworld" filters etc.. with NGK irridiums rated at "7" on a 6-8 scale?? Millers and Redline Oils on their way too.

My mate is running an EVO2 and fitted an Apexi PowerFC for complete engine management. Should i be looking to do the same on my Scoob because of the 100RON thing and Japan etc? Rather that than octane booster at fill-ups right?

Would love to keep the car as original as possible with only the necessary mods where needed. Rather spend some money now than fork out for a rebuild down the line!

What would you all suggest?

-A
Old 29 August 2007, 10:58 AM
Scooby Senior

Don't know where you are based to recommend a mapper, but on that car you can get an ECUtec remap on the OE ecu.

I would recommend a new MAF sensor from subaru or Mark at Lateral, they are circa 85 + vat and are pretty much a service Item as they regularly fail on the 99/00 cars

To get the most out of the re-map go for a full de-cat and a panel filter and you should see circa 320 BHP.

go for a Whiteline adj anti roll bar and solid droplinks for the rear, an anti-lift kit for the front and have the prodrive suspension settings dialed in by a good digital 4-wheel alignment centre to combat the understeer and you will have a great car

enjoy and welcome to scoobynet

Adam
Old 29 August 2007, 11:24 AM
apalmer
Scooby Regular

Thanks Adam, sounds like a plan