Notices

The next step after buying a 04WRX?

Search this Thread

Old 29 January 2007, 01:10 AM
Flat4matt
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The next step after buying a 04WRX?

Getting rid of the sport, next week hopefully and getting a wrx 04 plate. i know its going to be a big step up from a NA 2ltr sport but was just wondering what you lot would do performance wise on a wrx to get it upto STi standards or somewhere near an STi, would a remap with a good exhaust system and an upgrade in suspension be a good start?
im totally new to turbod motors as you can tell, just afew ideas would be great.
By the way before i do go ahead with any tuning, handling or braking changes im going to get used to the standard set up first. i was just keen on what would be the next step up after that.
thanx,
Matt
Old 29 January 2007, 01:21 AM
corradoboy
Scooby Regular

1. Cheap first step, Whiteline 22mm rear ARB and solid (steel) links. £160ish
2. Again, cheap. Goodridge braided lines with DOT 5.1 fluid and some Pagid Blue or Ferodo DSPF pads. £150ish
3. Decat up-pipe, sports cat down-pipe and decat'd centre with a decent free-flowing BB, allied to a remap to get IRO 280-290bhp. £1k+/-
4. To keep it all under control, AST Sportlines with a good geo set-up. £1k ish
5. Vredestein UltraC tyres as and when you need to replace. £300^
Old 29 January 2007, 11:42 AM
34srm
Scooby Regular

drive it for a while get used to it before you start or you will end up owning a car you carnt drive to the max
Old 29 January 2007, 01:14 PM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by Flat4matt
Getting rid of the sport, next week hopefully and getting a wrx 04 plate. i know its going to be a big step up from a NA 2ltr sport but was just wondering what you lot would do performance wise on a wrx to get it upto STi standards or somewhere near an STi, would a remap with a good exhaust system and an upgrade in suspension be a good start?