Notices

Does this sound like head gasket has gone?

Search this Thread

Old 29 August 2006, 11:02 PM
Thunderbird555
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Does this sound like head gasket has gone?

I have a 99 sport, approx. 98k miles (in case it has any relevance).

Anyway, went for a quick overtake on a short dual carriageway run tonight and hit, i guess, about 6.5-7K revs in 3rd. Next thing I know, temperature guage has shot up. Only had a mile or so to get home so put the heater on full blast to try to draw the heat of the engine, but the heater only blew out cold air.

I would love it if someone could tell me it is just the thermostat or something that has gone, but my feeling is that a big bill is coming up.

I am not technically minded, so if someone can confirm my worst fears or, even better, come up with other suggestions at to what it might be, I would be grateful.

Cant give much more information coz its dark out there so i am not about to start looking for leaks or anything until daylight.
Old 29 August 2006, 11:05 PM
vessy
Scooby Regular

Sounds like you may have lost coolant/water, check the header tank and expansion bottle, if low then it's leaking somewhere, if no water loss then water pump could have failed.
Old 29 August 2006, 11:31 PM
Thunderbird555
Scooby Regular

Thanks. I will check in the morning and top up if necessary.

If its not that, then I guess my only option is to get it recovered to a garage. Don't fancy driving it if I can't keep the temperature down.
Old 30 August 2006, 03:48 PM
Zafiragsi
Scooby Newbie

Unfortunatley that definately sounds like the head gasket to me.
Old 30 August 2006, 06:22 PM
Thunderbird555
Scooby Regular

Smile

I am happy now. Checked the header tank this morning and it was a bit low, but there was no water or coolant at all in the reserve. Topped both up then let the engine run for about 5 minutes and once warmed up it ran a constant temperature.