2002 Standard WRX turbo tuning tips please

Search this Thread

Old 05 October 2005, 12:41 PM
richbaker78
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Standard WRX turbo tuning tips please

hi all,

Im new to all this scooby stuff and have a 2002 WRX std turbo engine (im fitting it in a VW camper yes really)

I want to be sure im getting the most out of my engine for as cheap as possible - ie I wont be remapping etc for the time being.

As you can appreciate im in a position to do a number of things quite easily prior to fitting the engine - but i need advice.

1st im going to have to make a custom exhaust - my plan is to purchase a 2nd hand upgraded one and add a few extra bends (no avoiding this) into it to get it to go where I want it - are there any makes I should look out for that people cna recomend?I dont want unbearable drone but something to give out that lovely subaru burble.

2nd - cna I get away with simply removing the cat. to gain power by fitting a decat section? or will this require remaping?

2nd and a bit - wot about exhaust/turbo headers? are the stock ones wuite restrictive or is this just an uneccesary expensive mod for littel gain?

3rd - induction kits - obviously Ive got to junk the standard set up to fit it all im my engine bay (shame!!) so im gona go with induction kit - but looking at the kits they seem to just be pipes with a big airfilter on the end - can i just buy a decent K&N and whack it on the end of my intake? or am I missing something - any recommendations for the best kits/filters etc? bearing in mind I dont need the pipe work usually fitted to a scooby to presumably fit it in the right place.