Quetions,Questions,Questions!

Search this Thread

Old 03 March 2005, 08:30 PM
Bumfluff
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quetions,Questions,Questions!

Hi all
Have a couple of things i need to check on my scoob but i'm a complete novice when it comes to anything mechanical so hopefully you guys can help me out.
I bought my car about 2 weeks ago(my99 uk)and when i took it out for a test drive it seemed amazingly quick(compared to my 2ltr sport)but when i came to collect it it lacked the power i experienced previously .The car had been given an oil service prior to me picking it up.So after looking on here it seems that cleaning the boost solenoid is a good idea.
I'm just unsure of where it is and exactly how to do it(any pics showing would be great).
I checked the air filter the other day and this was sh*tted up so i replaced it.
Im also going to change the plug's and leads so any recomendations would be great!
Is there any thing else you think i should check while i'm at it?

Thanks for your time
Gaz
Old 03 March 2005, 08:45 PM
grahamfrary
Scooby Regular

Step 1 fit a boost gauge. You will never get anywhere with performance related questions 'til you know what the boost is doing. Step 2 check the MAF (its in the air intake just after the filter box. MY99's are prone to failure - afaik all new ones have got the part number in white printing on the flange. Quick test is to unplug the MAF when the engine is running and warm. It should die, but if it slows then picks up again the MAF is probably dead. Lamba sensor is also a known weak point.

Good luck
Old 03 March 2005, 08:58 PM
Bumfluff
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by grahamfrary