Notices

Hit and miss performance MY03 STi

Search this Thread

Old 09 February 2005, 02:05 PM
Mr Pants!
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hit and miss performance MY03 STi

Wow, posting up loads of queries here....

I think the best way to establish problems or not is through people who own the cars.

I normally do about 10 - 15 mins of driving, pending outside temp, before I will boot it.

I find that the first couple of boots of the day are a little weak, then as I progress through my journey and give it a few more blasts it seems to improve more and more.

Is this quite normal? Does the ECU limit you to a specific amount of boost or something?

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 09 February 2005, 02:43 PM
Squadron-Leader
Scooby Regular

I'm not an expert on this stuff but, I did ask similar questions after I got my 1st Scoob.

AFAIK the ECU will hold back MAX boost until things are a little bit warmer..... normally no longer than a couple of miles. I wait a good 10 minutes before giving it any stick, though I'm sure I could do it at lot earlier.

From my experience.... the hotter the Turbo, the better is goes!

J.
Old 09 February 2005, 03:38 PM
Mr Pants!
Scooby Regular

Thanks for that.

Even after 10 mins no mine the initial blasts are not as good as the ones that follow a bit later.
Old 09 February 2005, 03:41 PM
merlin71
Scooby Regular

Same as my 04 WRX PPP.

Engine has to be well warm before you get full boost, you just have to be patient with it.
Old 09 February 2005, 04:03 PM
Trashman
Scooby Regular

Just to add to the temperature thing, when the water temp is indicating normal, my Defi's show the oil is barely 55 degrees (normal 95+ degrees) so the engine is way off normal at that point.
Old 09 February 2005, 07:49 PM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular