Notices

Broken piston

Search this Thread

Old 11 January 2000, 09:20 AM
Fred
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This topic is made to share my experience with my scooby.

Just before beginnig I just want to say I'm not a mechanics and english is not my first language... so if there's errors correct them but don't shout at me!. Thanks.
Also some informations are not sure at 100%, so be careful...

This first thread is just done to make a try to put a pic. If it's ok the complete story follows...

[img]
Old 11 January 2000, 09:22 AM
Fred
Scooby Regular

let's try again I want the pic appears directly here

Old 11 January 2000, 09:25 AM
Fred
Scooby Regular

That ok, no space needed at the end, let's go...

Hi all

For those who are interesting just have a look at this "little" motor problem…

Subjet : impreza turbo 110000 Kms, model std European car MY94, standard boost=0,8b (11,42PSI)
Car life : Standard from 0 to 50000 kms (31250 miles),
From 50000kms : Boost 1,1b (15,7 PSI)
From 90000kms (56250 miles) : Boost 1,35b (19,28 PSI)

All boost pressure are intended in 3th gear.
The highest pressure is achieved of course in 5th gear : 1,45b (20,7 PSI)

- This car was drove very hard. Doesn't mean I don't take care of it (I pay a lot attention for warm up and cooling down turbo) but when I drove it was not for doing fuel economy…

Few months ago I was driving softly, strangly the car has some difficulties to accelerate, it's like if ignition was missing on one cylinder or something strange the motor. Suddenly I start to saw smoke in the mirror… ouch!… turbo broken I think myself. Lot of smoke in low revs…seems to disapear when reving up. At idle the car was "not so bad".
I heard nothing special, no noise, no shake,First strange signs were few kms before.
I drove carrefully to home (about 5 kms). Check the oil : lost 1 liter till start to smoke. Well done, seems to have big problem…