Notices

MY99 throwoutbearing/clutch fork install procedure spcifics...

Search this Thread

Old 23 October 2016, 10:11 PM
dq81
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MY99 throwoutbearing/clutch fork install procedure spcifics...

mechanic and 1 man garage by trade. just been operated on but clutch on Fozzy needs repacing as I'll use it as a runabout for 6 months before breaking.

Have someone in to do it. Have a feeling may not be doing it right.

What't the procedure on re-installing the throwout bearing and fork on a my99 Forester Turbo S. Surely you put the bearing on the input shaft, install the fork "on" the throwout bearing and then install the box as a whole, not try and press the fork on the bearing AFTER you've installed the box. Guy now has bearing "clicked" into pressure plate, box installed and is trying to get the fork on from there, does that make sense? I don't like to tell people I pay what to do unless I'm sure. Anything US pre 90's and I'm your guy, anything European pre 80's I'm your guy. This thing, not having turned a bolt my self, I need someone to tell me.

Am I right? Very frustrating not being the guy turning the wrenches but I can't for 6 months or so. Can't or Doc says I'm not allowed to lift more than 5kg's or exert that much pressure. Bugger.

Looking forward to hearing what the correct procedure would be.

The old clutch disc was warn down to the rivets. New "used" one is 1.7mm thicker. Just needs 6 months of driving, then she gets pulled apart. Need to know how to reassemble proplerly. Not buying the "pressure plate is too tired for this thicker clutch and as a result the throwout bearing can't seat the fork properly there no room" theory...

cheers

Last edited by dq81; 23 October 2016 at 10:14 PM.
Old 23 October 2016, 10:46 PM
ossett2k2
Scooby Regular

Received 39 Likes on 27 Posts

Your man is correct,bearing onto the plate,gearbox in and clutch fork and pin last.
Old 24 October 2016, 07:20 AM
dq81
Scooby Newbie