Notices

New turbo

Search this Thread

Old 26 July 2015, 10:49 AM
bloops1981
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New turbo

Hi all I have a 1999 classic uk, unfortunately I have sheared a blade on the cold side of turbo engine is all still fine, I think I have been lucky ! however the turbo is a VF34 would a VF35 be a straight swap with no further mods ? I understand I will need a remap, or is there another model turbo I could go for its just a grand is a bit heavy for a vf34 at the moment.

Any help is appreciated team.

chris
Old 26 July 2015, 11:25 AM
Lee_
Scooby Regular

You have lots of options really, its just how much do you want to spend.

You could have the turbo fixed/reconditioned. Or you could replace with another TD04 (I have one I keep meaning to sell!).

I'm not an expert on this subject but I can tell you what I have as part of the turbo upgrade.

It's a RB5 with the following mods (fully forged before upgrade);
- VF37 (Twin scroll)
- Matching twin scroll manifold
- New sump
- 3 Port Boost Solenoid (recommended for mapping)
- Miltek exhaust
- 550cc Injectors + flow testing
- RCM Fuel pump
- Alcatek ECU (with anti-lag+launch control) + Mapping by the one and only Bob Rawle! (Bob is brilliant at mapping these cars if you aren't aware)
- I chose to go down the Alcatek route as it allowed me to go MAF'less (I'd had problems with the MAF a few times before)
- K+N panel filter

When I had the same quandary I was a bit naive about what a decent turbo upgrade would entail. The work was carried out by a fantastic engine/car builder in Bristol. He explained my options at every step and his work is amazing. I intend to keep taking my car back to his garage when it needs any large jobs done.

Also remember if you go beyond 330bhp your clutch/gearbox may decide they have had enough! - I'm just looking at a 6 speed upgrade at the moment.