Notices
Engine Management and ECU Remapping This section is to discuss the various aspects of engine management modification for your Subaru.

96 Impreza ECU upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 17 November 2012, 06:21 PM
haitec
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Impreza ECU upgrade

Hi guys, I'm new to subaru and need your help! I got a 96 Impreza Wagon Turbo as a winter tool =) Now i'm after more power. I guess those old ECU's can't be mapped. Found here in the forum that some plug n play (?) chips exists. Are they nowadays still available? any additional upgrades required, like walbro? how does boost control work with these chips? thanks for infos! cheers, Ro
Old 17 November 2012, 07:03 PM
Dmacnz
Scooby Regular

Hi,

Best option for the older ECU is ESL. It is a mother board which get soldered into your stock ECU and acts as a fully tuneable setup.
Price is right, and the setup is almost impossible to beat.

I have one in my 96 WRX and made plenty enough power!! More then enough to say ciao to your gearbox!!
Andy at enduring solutions is extremely helpful, prob the best man to ask!
Old 19 November 2012, 10:18 PM
flthyrich
Scooby Newbie

Is it a V2 96 or a V3 96? (Facelift or non)

Makes a bit of a difference what ECU is in there
Old 20 November 2012, 07:24 AM
haitec
Scooby Newbie

The ECU has 4 plugs and the following numbers:

6D
22611 AB540
A18-000 D07

..I guess it's a non facelift as it has a slightly different looking front compared to a 98 Impreza
Old 20 November 2012, 08:53 AM
Andy Stevens
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by flthyrich
Is it a V2 96 or a V3 96? (Facelift or non)

Makes a bit of a difference what ECU is in there
Doesn't make any difference as far as fitting esl is concerned, there is a board for 97/8 as well as 92/6.
Old 20 November 2012, 09:15 AM
haitec
Scooby Newbie