Notices
Engine Management and ECU Remapping This section is to discuss the various aspects of engine management modification for your Subaru.

Ej225 rod knock

Search this Thread

Old 16 February 2018, 11:30 AM
Treebo88
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ej225 rod knock

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new in the sense of engine rebuild stuff however this is my third Subaru can't get enough of these ;-)

I have a 2005 forester xt 2.5 which has rod knock im pretty sure that it's slipped a bearing. I have a receipt from the old owner showing head gaskets done in late 2017, even tho it was skimmed then do you guys recommend a skim again ?

main issue here is I've read up a silly amount when it comes to a rebuild and what goes with it however there is one or two points I could do with a little advice on...

1.once you've had rod knock is it ok to litterally strip and replace bearings and machine the shaft if needed with oversized bearings and then reuse the pistons etc ...

2.more than likely if I'm understanding right the rod will prob need replacing so would I replace the set or just the one ?

I should add I'm not after power from her possibly a small remap but that's about as far as I'll go power wise for her.

please forgive if I'm asking silly questions just trying to learn as much as I can before I start.

thanks for your help.
Old 16 February 2018, 12:05 PM
bigsigh
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

EJ22 would have been a delightful engine code to find on your block , im guessing you meant EJ255

no point in skimming for skimming sakes, check for flatness first and see if its required.

if you have a knocking rod, you will want to replace the crank rather than grind it.
pistons can be reused provided they are in good order, light hone and new rings ideally provided everything is within tollerance