clutch gone?????

Search this Thread

Old 12 July 2005, 06:38 PM
nicos
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry clutch gone?????

Hi
I have just bought my first impreza turbo (on friday) after saving for ages!!!!!!!
Its only an early 95 uk model,and on sat i was driving home and the clutch pedal stayed to the floor! drove the rest of the way changing gear with no clutch and trying not to stop! now i know a bit about cars but im no expert so i had a look and could see that the slave cylinder was leaking,so i got it off and the seal had split so i ordered a new one which arrived today,put it on and started to bleed it but the pedal just wasnt getting any better!!! then i noticed that the plate that it pushes against was all the way up and was not going back,its just loose, so am i right in saying the the clutch has gone? If so any idea how much it costs to get a new one fitted?
so after saving for god knows how long and only driving it for about 6 hours its going to be off the road for a good few months while i save up AGAIN!!!
Not a great start to scooby ownership!
Sorry for going on just gutted!!!!!

hope you can help
cheers
nicos
Old 12 July 2005, 07:34 PM
bikerthou
Scooby Regular

sounds like the clutch ( thrust ) bearing retaining ring has come adrift i put thrust in brackets as its a pul clutch so the bearing pulls on the clutch cover fingers sounds like the gearbox out and have a look
Old 13 July 2005, 07:24 AM
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Biker could be right.

First though:

1 Is there a long spring on the clutch arm to the small bracket on the bell housing?
It is about 75mm long and 10 in diameter. Very common to loose these!
If one is missing get a new one off a dealer or even a good car parts shop. Try that first.

Have you bled the clutch with the piston fully clamped into the cylinder? This works wonders.
Check the frree play of the pedal, adjust to about 6 mm if you can. Pedal pushrod is adjustable.