Improving performance - MY03 WRX

Search this Thread

Old 28 July 2003, 09:05 PM
MrClyfar
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi there.

I'm a very new owner of a 2003 WRX Impreza, and I was wondering about the potential possibilities of boosting the BHP. Specifically if I wanted to keep the bugdet to a more affordable level, what are the little things I could do if I decided to increase the BHP a bit?

I've jotted down changing the air filter to an ITG model can help (about 5 BHP), are there other tips you could give me which are similar? I understand that to get major benefits will require more drastic changes ie turbo, downpipes, etc. But being a beginner I thought I'd start off gently

Thanks for any advice you can give.
Jas.
Old 28 July 2003, 10:24 PM
Apple
Scooby Regular

Smile

whoa...

first question - do you want to keep your warranty? if yes, then the only official way is PPP (Prodrive Performance Pack) via your dealer for 1600 beer tokens... power up to approx 260bhp, torque increased but can't remember to what though. this takes you into standard STi territory (without 6-speed box, bigger brakes etc)

secondly, if not bothered about warranty, (your decision with whatever justification you care to come up with etc - disclaimer - I'm not being held responsible for anything going pop or a dealer disowning you if you go too far ) there's a few routes to go, decat exhausts, ecu remaps, turbos etc but have a read round (use search facility and get snowed under with info ) this is a good way of spending little or LOTS as the power craze takes over...

also check about changing air filters and whether it's wise - AFAIR there's been things about screwing up MAF sensors by changing the filter...