Serious Tuning Advice Needed Please

Search this Thread

Old 28 April 2003, 09:00 PM
MickyC
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok,
Heres the deal!
I am new to owning a scoob, I am new to tuning cars, but have caught the bug seriously since aquiring my 99V 5 door impreza turbo with 40k on the clock.
I have decated her completely and what a fantastic difference it made.
Now my point is this, and I dont think I am alone when I say this but I am about as technical as a pizza!!!!!!
What I would dearly, dearly love is this;
I have exactly £1000 to spend on getting as much power, correctly, safely, and quickly out of my car,.........but!.......I know nothing, and i mean nothing.
People have advised boost gauges, knock links, ECUTEK's, but i have no or very little understanding of what these things do in terms of adding power to my car.
So are there any kind hearted Subaru fanatics out there that would take the time to put themslves in my position, with 1K to spend on adding as much power as possible to my car which as I said earlier has a brand new full decat exhaust only at the moment and explain to me why they advise a particular part?????
Remember, we all had to start somwhere and hopefully my lessons start here?

Looking forward to hearing from you guys

Micky
Old 28 April 2003, 09:13 PM
Fatman
Scooby Regular

Micky - a good place to start would be to have the ECU remapped. That's the ECUtek reference people throw around. Actually it's the name of the firm who provide the mappers with the software to do the job. Remaps update the software references used by the ECU (i.e. keep the same ECU hardware, it's just flashed. That will cost £500-£700 depending on where you go.