Notices
Dealer and Third Party Supplier Queries Need to ask a specific question of a dealer or third party supplier, then do it here.

Import Warranty Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03 February 2003, 09:04 PM
PottyM
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I am fairly new to the Scooby World and have recently bought a 2000 WRX Import. The previous two owners had what seemed to be an insurance/warranty booklet that required an 'approved' service at regular intervals. My questions are this; Is the purpose of this warranty to enable the car to be re-sold? and do I need to continue it? or can I have the car serviced elsewhere? Does it matter to the re-sale value of the car?? Aaaargh too many questions....
Old 03 February 2003, 09:06 PM
knuckledragger
Scooby Regular

Is it a Euro or Jap import? Is the warranty a third party one?
Old 03 February 2003, 09:15 PM
PottyM
Scooby Newbie

It's a Jap Import and the previous warranties have been through Hughes and Ralliart.
Old 03 February 2003, 09:41 PM
knuckledragger
Scooby Regular

Right, I'll try my best:
The service record is just what it says it is. A record of regular and recommended services performed on the car. That is always a sensible way to treat a car! Also, it will help support the resale value when you come to part company.
As for the warranty, It is insurance plain and simple. If something goes wrong with your motor then you hope the warranty covers it and you don't have to fork out to put it right.
Warranties normally stipulate that you have to get the car serviced at recommended intervals (the proof being the service record) to keep the warranty valid. As you have a Jap import then most Official Subaru (IM) dealers won't touch it. No problem there! Their loss (as has been discussed on other threads). You have dozens of other reputable (and equally valid) service locations. To find one, post your location on this site.