Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Getting into IT as a career

Search this Thread

Old 25 January 2009, 01:35 PM
Catalunya21
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting into IT as a career

I wondered what sort of ideas I coudl get off some of the people on here - I have been a teacher for 10 years, and have just about had enough of the paperwork. Holidays are great, but bringing loads of paperwork home on a daily basis isn't.
Anyway, I contacted advent who talked about setting me on a network maintainance type course, which would eventually quality me for network overseeing. At a cost of about £5k.
I know of a lad locally who does network maintenance for the nhs on reasonable money, and he apparently only did a college course.
Any suggestions? The plus/downside is that I am in Cornwall, so guess I may have to relocate to somewhere else with more possibilities.....
Old 25 January 2009, 02:53 PM
ScoobyDoo555
Scooby Regular

tbh, at the moment, Education is a bl00dy sight more secure than most other industries.

Depends on how risky you want your life to be......

The other option is to move into IT, but in Education (FE, or HE)......best of both worlds..... plus no taking work home

Dan
Old 25 January 2009, 07:00 PM
jpor
Scooby Regular