Notices
Car Care Discussion on how to keep your pride and joy looking at it's best.

Shampoo then Clay then HS Cleanser then HD Wax ?????

Search this Thread

Old 14 March 2013, 10:10 AM
Unclealbert
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shampoo then Clay then HS Cleanser then HD Wax ?????

Made the mistake of going down the Diamondbrite route 18 months ago and have now realised that it is sh!te. Been lazy and just using DB conditioner and shampoo for 18 monthes and no longer good enough. Sportswagon is blue mica and I think in very good condition for 2007 wrx.

Should add I am not an expert and just buying British because I should

So I have ordered AG Shampoo 2.5l
AG Clay Kit
AG HD Cleanser
AG HD Wax
AG Trim Gel

So my question relates to sealent

If I just apply wax over cleanser as per manufactuers instuctions does one or both of these substances act as a sealent?

Or do I need to do something else as well? Only interested in AG products.

Will do a trial run on the birds Mondeo first

Cheers
Old 14 March 2013, 10:38 AM
stonejedi
Scooby Regular

Received 149 Likes on 109 Posts

To start with autoglym makes some quality products so no need to worry about that.Cleanser is to get the paint nice and clean before the application of your wax,you could glaze after the cleanser but before the wax to bring some wetness to your finish.the order to use the products would be wash,clay while car is still wet no need to dry,paint clense with the HD cleanser then finish off with the wax.there is plenty of other stages that you could do like snow foam,tar remover and a iron x product to decontaminate the paint further which would be done after the wash and before you clay.I hope I have not given you to much info.if you are really interested about car technics and products have a look on a site called detailing world.SJ.

Last edited by stonejedi; 14 March 2013 at 10:40 AM.
Old 14 March 2013, 11:07 AM
Unclealbert
Scooby Regular