Notices

Cusco coilovers - repair or replace?

Search this Thread

Old 27 July 2018, 11:22 AM
ricmclaughlin
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cusco coilovers - repair or replace?

Hi guys - I was hoping to draw from the well of your amassed suspension experience.

After years of searching I've just bought my first GC8, a '99 Type R V5 Ltd. It comes with Cusco coilovers fitted and the rear passenger side has a slight knock and could do with a rebuild. It's not a big or urgent job but what would you advise - spending the money on a full refurb for all corners or replacing them with another brand?

I've no experience of Cusco's so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 28 July 2018, 10:11 PM
360ste
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

I have Tein suspension on my Bugeye and noticed that one seemed to be leaking oil. Cleaned it up and a couple of months later checked on it and evidence again of leakage. Contacted Tein about getting them rebuilt. OMG!!! it would have cost me over £500 PER STRUT to get them rebuilt. A complete new setup was less than £1000. so definitely worth contacting as to the price of a rebuild as it is much more labour involved than just building a strut.
Old 30 July 2018, 10:02 PM
ricmclaughlin
Scooby Newbie

Thanks mate! Dealer got it wrong they're HKS. From what I can see, they've no UK service centre? It's not too bad just now but equally, I don't want it getting much worse.
Old 09 August 2018, 08:50 AM
sunny1989
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by ricmclaughlin
Thanks mate! Dealer got it wrong they're HKS. From what I can see, they've no UK service centre? It's not too bad just now but equally, I don't want it getting much worse.
From what I've gathered over the years HKS coilovers aren't best suited to our UK roads, especially if they are old and no doubt worn which sounds the case.