Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Thinking about building a medium range gaming PC - Intel, or AMD?

Old 13 March 2019, 04:07 PM
  #31  
Tidgy
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Notts
Posts: 22,322
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbowlhead View Post
I don't think he needs to worry about that though as he's only looking at 1440p. Going up to 4K with good frame rates is going to double his budget at least.

That monitor runs at 114mhz as well over freesync so is plenty fast enough.
its only 75hz vertical (120horizontal), the 114 is an average but is a tad misleading.
Tidgy is offline  
Old 14 March 2019, 01:48 PM
  #32  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbowlhead View Post
It's definitely a freesync monitor as mines set up with freesync.
Originally Posted by Tidgy View Post
does state freesync when you go looking for more details (amazon isnt great for tech details)

https://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/computing/pc-monitors/pc-monitors/aoc-q3279vwf-quad-hd-31-5-led-monitor-black-10173606-pdt.html?store={store_code}&&istCompanyId=bec25c7e-cbcd-460d-81d5-a25372d2e3d7&istItemId=-xqlrwmmmiw&istBid=t&srcid=198&cmpid=ppc~gg~1007%20 MONITORS%20-%20IMv2%20LTC~1007%20MONITORS%20-%2010173606_exact~Exact&mctag=gg_goog_7904&kwid=GO OGLE&device=c&ds_kids=43700030783935638&tgtid=1007 %20MONITORS%20-%20IMv2%20LTC&&gclid=CjwKCAjw1KLkBRBZEiwARzyE71_F2 lnLri86k3S9Iay5l_nOCel1v8UqbbDKYFQkf5CREa5o6ZKU-hoCWN0QAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

product code is the same.

I would more be looking for high refresh for a gaming monitor.
Originally Posted by Fishbowlhead View Post
Refresh rate is absolutely fine for games with it. Never noticed a single hickup while playing.

No screen tearing.
No input lag.
No ghosting.

Unless your a pro gamer where ever single possible frame counts then it's not something to even worry about.

Also if your coming from a console and tv then the difference in input speed and general picture smoothness will be night and day too.
my bad, missed it in the details when scanning at work. Definitely a good option then. And as said, I'm not a pro gamer by any means and won't be quite as picky in regards to some of the specific frame refresh stuff. Thanks both
Ste333 is offline  
Old 14 March 2019, 02:02 PM
  #33  
Tidgy
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Notts
Posts: 22,322
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ste333 View Post
my bad, missed it in the details when scanning at work. Definitely a good option then. And as said, I'm not a pro gamer by any means and won't be quite as picky in regards to some of the specific frame refresh stuff. Thanks both
it's a bit naughty how they do it tbh, doesnt mater if one orientation is 1000000000000 if the other one is 75
Tidgy is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 10:36 AM
  #34  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

indeed... very sneaky. Whilst we're here, shall we play the "show me your gaming rigs!" game ?

Anyone got any pics of their setup, desk, monitor(s) etc ?
Ste333 is offline  
Old 18 March 2019, 06:15 PM
  #35  
Fishbowlhead
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Canvey Island
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ste333
indeed... very sneaky. Whilst we're here, shall we play the "show me your gaming rigs!" game ?

Anyone got any pics of their setup, desk, monitor(s) etc ?
Nice system here Ste. Just needs a big platter secondary hard drive for all your stuff, plus another 8gig stick of ram to take advantage of ryzens duel channel speed.

https://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/ccl...clebay-3198844

Last edited by Fishbowlhead; 18 March 2019 at 06:17 PM.
Fishbowlhead is offline  
Old 19 March 2019, 09:08 AM
  #36  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

that's actually a similarish spec to what I'm going to go for...bar the 8gb memory. Would probably plump for 16.... and yeah could add a decent sized 3.5" mechanical hard drive - 1/2 tb.

Not sure if it is as great a price as it seems though...as once you add an OS, upgrade the power supply from the generic 500w, add another 8gb memory, and another hard drive.... you've added on the best part of 100+ (depending on where you get the license key)
Ste333 is offline  
Old 19 March 2019, 09:17 AM
  #37  
Fishbowlhead
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Canvey Island
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You can actually use W10 un activated and pretty much work as normal, bar the annoying prompts to activate it with a license. Can then get a cheap key off eBay for like 10-20.
Fishbowlhead is offline  
Old 19 March 2019, 01:00 PM
  #38  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbowlhead View Post
You can actually use W10 un activated and pretty much work as normal, bar the annoying prompts to activate it with a license. Can then get a cheap key off eBay for like 10-20.
yeah I've read that. I've seen that you get an annoying water mark on the desktop, but can just set your own desktop background to negate it as well
Ste333 is offline  
Old 19 March 2019, 11:00 PM
  #39  
RockyRoad
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ste333 View Post
yeah I've read that. I've seen that you get an annoying water mark on the desktop, but can just set your own desktop background to negate it as well
I'm pretty sure the watermark is permanent on everything and I don't think you can't change the desktop background as personalisation is locked out. At least it used to be, maybe it's changed.
RockyRoad is offline  
Old 27 March 2019, 11:09 AM
  #40  
jonc
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I built myself a closed loop water cooled Ryzen 5 2600, AMD 560 GPU, 16GB system from scratch for 800 last year. Prebuild systems may be slightly cheaper, but at least with self build, you buy exactly what you want in a system. I don't play games on it, mainly use it for video editing. Also check out https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/ to help build your system, you pick the part and it finds the cheapest available.
jonc is offline  
Old 28 March 2019, 08:11 AM
  #41  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jonc View Post
I built myself a closed loop water cooled Ryzen 5 2600, AMD 560 GPU, 16GB system from scratch for 800 last year. Prebuild systems may be slightly cheaper, but at least with self build, you buy exactly what you want in a system. I don't play games on it, mainly use it for video editing. Also check out https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/ to help build your system, you pick the part and it finds the cheapest available.
ah that's useful to know that pc parts picker is available in the UK too. I thought it was just a US thing.... cheers
Ste333 is offline  
Old 28 March 2019, 11:08 AM
  #42  
Littleted
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Leeds
Posts: 4,009
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think id go AMD at the moment, better bang for buck, get good cooling maybe liquid if u can, AMD tend to run hotter.

As for VGA ive been gaming for 30 years plus and i never got on with Nivida, everytime i switched i always had little niggles with either drivers or something which annoyed me, So ive been an avid user of AMD cards for years now, running a vega 64 at the moment, its blisteringly fast and does everything at 4k or less.
My view would be throw as much as you can at the VGA end and a good ssd and the rest will work fine, im still running a core i5 6 year old one, i have 32gb ram and a vega 64 and it plays everything mega fast 100FPS plus at 4k at above 1080p

Screen wise i use this

https://www.samsung.com/uk/monitors/...C32HG70QQUXEN/

Just remember Fsync AMD and Gsync is Nvidia

Last edited by Littleted; 28 March 2019 at 11:47 AM.
Littleted is offline  
Old 28 March 2019, 11:34 AM
  #43  
Fishbowlhead
Scooby Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Canvey Island
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Littleted
Just remember Fsync Nividia and Gsync is AMD
Errrr no.

Gsync is Nvidia.
Freesync is AMD.

Fishbowlhead is offline  
Old 28 March 2019, 11:46 AM
  #44  
Littleted
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Leeds
Posts: 4,009
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbowlhead View Post
Errrr no.

Gsync is Nvidia.
Freesync is AMD.

Opps sorry
Littleted is offline  
Old 13 May 2019, 07:52 AM
  #45  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So this got completed on the weekend and booted up:



In the end the spec I went for was:

Ryzen 5 2600x CPU
MSI B450 Pro Carbon AC board
G SKill Ripjaws 16GB RAM 3200
Sapphire RX580 Nitro + GPU
Corsair TXM550 PSU
Kingston 240gb SSD (for windows)
Seagate 2TB HDD for games/music etc
Phanteks P300 Eclipse case in white
Corsair Pro Lite RGB Keyboard and mouse

Happy so far I've got the memory to post at the desired 3200 speed which is good....and I've been dabbling with overclocking the CPU....

I OC'd the 3.6Ghz 2600x to 4.0Ghz at a reasonable voltage, but I've now read that this processor has a precision boost feature and auto OC's itself up to 4.0/4.1 if required on all cores.... so in actual fact I may have ruined it's single core performance.... (it's a 6 core). So just trying to figure that out now.

QHD *****, here we come

Last edited by Ste333; 13 May 2019 at 08:25 AM.
Ste333 is offline  
Old 13 May 2019, 09:50 AM
  #46  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jonc View Post
I built myself a closed loop water cooled Ryzen 5 2600, AMD 560 GPU, 16GB system from scratch for 800 last year. Prebuild systems may be slightly cheaper, but at least with self build, you buy exactly what you want in a system. I don't play games on it, mainly use it for video editing. Also check out https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/ to help build your system, you pick the part and it finds the cheapest available.
have you OC'd your 2600 mate? if so, to what spec/voltage?
Ste333 is offline  
Old 15 May 2019, 06:41 PM
  #47  
Discover
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

wow I thought I was the only one into gaming pc's lol
Discover is offline  
Old 16 May 2019, 07:59 AM
  #48  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

nah you're not alone mate got any details on yours?
Ste333 is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 01:25 AM
  #49  
Discover
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ste333 View Post
nah you're not alone mate got any details on yours?
In the past (before I got married) I always custom built the highest spec systems, overclocked the cpu, gpu and ram to within an inch of its life then sold the system on for a small profit. I've had systems with the flagship i7 chips like 3770k, 4790k, 5930k, (couldn't justify 5960x), also had 6850k, 8700k with high end cards (at the time) like gtx 980/ti, 1070/1080 etc.

I found myself addicted to Arma 3 which me and 4 lads from work played every single night 3 or 4 hours for 2-3 years non stop lol. Fantastic game but poorly made in that regardless what card I ran it suited a higher clocked cpu instead. In those days I think I had a 4790k clocked at 4.7GHz at 1.35v cooled by a custom water loop powered which had EK supremacy Evo block and alphacool nexxos rads, xspc d5 Pump/res.

After marriage I barely had anytime to play at all, and recently my PC is sat unused unless little wants to go on YouTube.

Taken a huge step down now, my current system I built using:
Corsair 760T case
i3-8350k CPU running at 4.6GHz
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 gaming K3 board
2x8GB Vengeance 3000MHz DDR4 ram
RM650x PSU
H100i aio cooler
GTX 970 G1 gaming (picked it up cheap 2nd hand)
Samsung 850 Evo SSD/mycloud nas drive storing my media
All custom cables and lighting/K70 rbg keyboard sabre mouse
XL2411T - legendary monitor I've still got

Rarely if I ever get a spare couple hours, I may fire up PUBG or Arma 3/apex. Still tempted to build a new system with either a ryzen/vega or 9700k/RTX but knowing I just don't have the time and the fact we're buying a house soon might leave it for another day.
Discover is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 01:37 PM
  #50  
jonc
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ste333 View Post
have you OC'd your 2600 mate? if so, to what spec/voltage?
Yes, I have OC'd it to 4.0GHz at 1.35v I think. I did a YT vid on my build with all the info if you're interested.

jonc is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 03:21 PM
  #51  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

tempted to make the leap (even after quote a short time) from my RX580 GPU to a 2070 Super.... and then next year to a later 3700/3800 Ryzen CPU. I only built this machine about 3 months ago, and now AMD have smashed it out of the park with their whole new line up. Annoying but clever b*stards
Ste333 is offline  
Old 09 July 2019, 10:23 PM
  #52  
Discover
Scooby Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

if its only 3 months old, you might get a decent amount for your current setup. Yeah AMD finally have knocked Intel off the top.
Tempted to sell my cpu and board and replace with 3800x and X470 board but knowing how little use my PC gets, there would be no point really.
Discover is offline  
Old 11 July 2019, 01:03 PM
  #53  
Ste333
Scooby Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Ste333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 1,064
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Discover View Post
if its only 3 months old, you might get a decent amount for your current setup. Yeah AMD finally have knocked Intel off the top.
Tempted to sell my cpu and board and replace with 3800x and X470 board but knowing how little use my PC gets, there would be no point really.
Same story for me mate. I really want to upgrade again...but it would only be for the sake of it...because at the moment I haven't got enough time to game on it as it is....

Going to see how I feel about it this time next year. See if PCIe 4 .0 has gained more traction with GPU's and other components too.
Ste333 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ChefDude
Computer & Technology Related
8
02 August 2006 10:10 PM
Bubba po
The Muppet Room
9
04 April 2005 09:06 AM
mega_stream
Computer & Technology Related
25
30 January 2002 08:54 PM
WREXY
Computer & Technology Related
6
23 January 2002 11:44 PM
boxst
Non Scooby Related
21
08 September 2001 09:48 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Thinking about building a medium range gaming PC - Intel, or AMD?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.