Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

oops just got ermm not caught but caught up with by the police..

Search this Thread

Old 12 July 2001, 08:48 AM
RICH WILD
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I got let off once for doing 92 on the motorway. Couldn't believe it! (it was night and the motorway was dead - unmarked Volvo)
Wot a top copper!

He said "It's easy done in one of those things, just keep your eye on your speed!"

If you are going the other way there is nothing legally they can do to verify your speed, they can't radar you if they are moving too, can't follow you (obviously) to check the speed with their speedo, can't VASCAR you, so basically all they can do is tell you off. Anything else wouldn't stand up in court. And if they follow you and read your speed based on their speedo, there has to be two of them for corroboration otherwise that won't stand up either (unless they have video eqpt). At least that's what used to be the law when I studied it!

Rich

[Edited by RICH WILD - 12/7/2001 8:50:28 AM]
Old 12 July 2001, 09:48 AM
whip
Scooby Regular

Talking

Leading on from Pete's little experience, has anyone ever been booked, and the copper swore/used abusive language? I thought there was some sort of law/guideline that they couldn't use swearwords at members of the public. Is there a possible way out of a ticket here, if the cop becomes abusive?

Thinking about it, the times when I've been pulled over and given a bo11ocking are the times when I was let off. Both times that I was done for speeding the copper was polite and by the book.

Whip

[Edited by whip - 12/7/2001 9:59:47 AM]
Old 06 December 2001, 11:45 PM
David_Wallis
Scooby Regular

Location: Leeds - It was 562.4bhp@28psi on Optimax, How much closer to 600 with race fuel and a bigger turbo?
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy