Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Civic Type R/Scooby Comparison

Search this Thread

Old 06 February 2002, 03:41 AM
JohnMcC
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think hes talking about the 1595cc CTR (ie 1.6), with 182bhp @ 8200rpm.
And the new Civic is a 2.0, 1998CC one, which may be a from a Japanese manufacturer, but it is British built - so in a manner of speaking the Japanese effectively import it from here.

I'm unaware of a 1.8 CTR (although I admit that I'm no expert). I thought it was just the Integra Type R with a 1.8? I thought the Civic Type Rs were previously 1.6, but with the new one were 2.0.

Anybody confirm?

[Edited by JohnMcC - 6/2/2002 3:42:44 AM]
Old 01 June 2002, 02:43 AM
wacky.banana
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
RESPONSE TO CIVIC TYPE R COMMENTS: HOW DOES ONE REPLY TO AN EXISTING THREAD PLEASE WITHOUT HAVING TO START OF A NEW ONE?

I drove one of these 2 weeks ago for about a couple of hours over a mixed variety of roads and I have to disagree with your comparison with the Scooby. For starters overtaking was a quite different experience. I'm used to the massive kick you get when you floor a Scooby, nowt there when you do the same with a Type R.

Now I'm not saying the Type R is not a good car, however saying its equal to a Scooby, IMHO, is a little wide off the mark

Regards
WB
Old 01 June 2002, 02:57 AM
P1Fanatic
Scooby Regular

Depends what Scoob u mean - I think there is very little difference between a standard CTR and a standard MY01> WRX.
Old 01 June 2002, 07:05 AM
sammyh
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!
Support Scoobynet!

Scroll down until you see the reply button and press it
Old 01 June 2002, 01:13 PM
wacky.banana
Scooby Regular

P1,

I was comparing the Type R with a 2000 year model car (ie the last of the old shape). While on paper the performance figures would lead one to believe that we should all be mindful of this little devil, driving one does not leave me with that impression.