ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Wheels, Tyres & Brakes (https://www.scoobynet.com/wheels-tyres-and-brakes-13/)
-   -   Warning Toyo TR1 perishing (https://www.scoobynet.com/wheels-tyres-and-brakes-13/996492-warning-toyo-tr1-perishing.html)

dave_t 03 February 2014 01:03 PM

Warning Toyo TR1 perishing

I have been using Toyo TR1's for the last three years, any other Toyo's before that on other cars.

The rear tyres although having half tread left have perished badly.
This seems to be a common problem with this tyre, so if you are running them keep an eye on the condition (not just the tread).

The tyre was cracking between the read blocks.

I replaced the fronts due to wear a few months back with new Toyo's, then i spotted the problem with the rears. Being a bugger for keeping matching sets I replaced the rears with Toyos as well. The rear tyres were returned to Toyo for inspection, who after 6 weeks or so did offer me 50% off a new pair without argument.

So I have now have new Toyo's all round, plus a letter for 50% off my next pair. Sadly I wish i had none fitted...

There are at least 3 other people on this site that have encountered the same problem.

Dave

jura11 03 February 2014 02:09 PM

Hi Dave

At first T1R are not good on New age and I wouldn't recommend them on heavy new age,if car is not used,then tyres will perish,on some this will never happen,but on some tyres is this more common

T1R are great tyres on classic or on lighter cars,but I wouldn't risk them to put on heavier cars,if yes then you will need to play with the tyre pressure,this can helps,but still I wouldn't choose them

If you have previous experience with this issue I would try contact Toyo UK or their distributor over here,if he can help you with yours query

Jura

Bodsbug 25 May 2014 02:24 AM

I've fitted two Toyo Proxes T1R on the front of my Bugeye last month,I'll keep an eye on them now!!..