ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   General Technical (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/)
-   -   Coolant Leak (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/971278-coolant-leak.html)

CBetts 08 April 2013 10:59 PM

Coolant Leak

Hi guys,

Fitted a new radiator and silicone hoses today because of a coolant leak, I thought it was the radiator causing the leak. However it's still leaking! looks to be coming from where the bottom radiator hose joins to the thermostat housing. Im new to subaru's and only had this one for a month, if anyone has any ideas it would be much appreciated

Many thanks
Craig.

360ste 08 April 2013 11:11 PM

Gasket on thermostat housing gone. The gasket is a on the edge of the thermostat so a good time to fit a cooler running thermostat.

CBetts 08 April 2013 11:19 PM

Originally Posted by 360ste (Post 11052779)
Gasket on thermostat housing gone. The gasket is a on the edge of the thermostat so a good time to fit a cooler running thermostat.

Cheers mate, it's running ok and the temp gauge is showing a normal reading but it only leaks when the engine is up to temperature, could it be a water pump issue?

blackvenom 09 April 2013 10:02 AM

Where have you noticed your leak? I have a small leak behind my drivers head light. I get spray on the bonet, airbox, and inner wing. Just a few drops, Only does it when the car is on full boost. My rad looks fine. So do the pipes. I have tried reving the car on boost (while hot) and nothing. I don't really want to replace everything. The amount is minimal but I would like to get it sorted

JDM_Stig 09 April 2013 10:09 AM

Originally Posted by blackvenom (Post 11052999)