ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   help with modifications please (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/956107-help-with-modifications-please.html)

markbrooks 14 November 2012 07:51 PM

help with modifications please

Hello. I have just brought my first impreza. Its a 52plate wrx and i would like to modify the engine but i have never done this before and dont really no where to start. I have heard that i could re-map it to about 250 bhp but i would like it to be around the 300 mark. Can anyone give me any ideas on what is good modifications to do and roughly what bhp i would get from them. It would also be nice if u could give me a rough idea on cost for the modifications to. Thanks

* * * KEV * * * 14 November 2012 07:55 PM

Probably be a good idea to let people know if the cars been modified in any way first off all and then you're more likely to get better answers ;)

L.J.F 14 November 2012 07:57 PM

To reach 300 you will need to upgrade-

Turbo
Injectors
Exhaust
Fuel pump
Top mount intercooler

Then have a remap for the above mods but just remember you will probably need to get better brake setup aswell to help stop the extra power;)

MattyB1983 14 November 2012 08:00 PM

300 bhp is just out of your reach with the standard turbo.
Your best route is -

-Decent exhaust system with either a sports CAT or a de-cat.
-good brand panel filter
-three port boost Solonoid
-new fuel pump (not essential but more for safety)
-mapping session with a well know tuner

These few mods will completely transform your car and bring power up to about 280 bhp (maybe a bit more) with similar torque. The drivability will be so much better too which Is the important bit.

Cost wise, second hand exhaust is going to be circa £200, new panel filter £40, fuel pump £50, three port £15 and then mapping.