ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   sti type R version 6 V limited (2000) (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/933834-sti-type-r-version-6-v-limited-2000-a.html)

BenGTTurbo 26 April 2012 10:32 AM

sti type R version 6 V limited (2000)

Hi all i am a newbie to this site and im basicly looking for a bit of advice.

I have been after a Impreza for a long time now and time has come where i can buy and afford to run one.

I am currently looking at a Subaru Impreza sti type R version 6 V limited (2000) from sva imports in Dover, Kent.

Link to car: http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/3306091.htm

I really like the car and looks like a very clean unmodified example, I have also left a deposit with sva for the car.

Now problem i have is that originaly i was looking at the normal impreza sti's and im not very clued up on the type r v6. I have tried searching online for hours but i cant seem to find much information on the 2000 Subaru Impreza sti type R version 6 V limited, I can only find earlier models.

Can anyone help me out on where i can find any information on this exact model?? Also is there anything i need to know or look out for ?? Someone told me the v5/6 engines are weak? is this true?? And finally am i right to say that the bumper on the car is off a 22b ??

Any help is much appreciated, Thanks

Bristol98 26 April 2012 10:46 AM

The V5/V6 engines are fine as far as I know (I've got a V6 STi wagon and not had a problem yet), the only weak point with them is the MAF is fragile especially when used with an induction kit....

Nice looking car too!

crazyspeedfreakz 26 April 2012 11:01 AM

Originally Posted by BenGTTurbo (Post 10596174)
Hi all i am a newbie to this site and im basicly looking for a bit of advice.