ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   when does a wrx engine need a rebuild and why help please (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/905909-when-does-a-wrx-engine-need-a-rebuild-and-why-help-please.html)

scoobydan1985 16 September 2011 10:07 PM

when does a wrx engine need a rebuild and why help please

hello im a little new to this whole subaru stuff i did ask for honest comments on my last post and honest comments and messages i got some good some bad and some well not good at all but everybody has an opinion ....... anyway when does a subaru wrx 2002 plate need an engine rebuild and why :wonder:

thank u danny

tubbytommy 16 September 2011 10:12 PM

when its broken,because its broken

it could blow up tommorow or it could do 200.000 miles.
they dont get to 99000 miles and all blow up. the life depends on how they are driven and serviced.
the main faults that would kill it would be bottom end bearing failure or head gaskets

wrx fifer 16 September 2011 10:14 PM

what tommy said, if there ragged and not looked after like any car they give up!!

Midlife...... 16 September 2011 10:14 PM

I've got a Bug WRX 2002...... sensibly modded and not ragged to death (ok it got ignored for a while when baby Dominic came along)

but still runs sweet :)

Shaun

Mrchips 16 September 2011 11:19 PM

Doesn't need a rebuild, until everyone else has said blown up.

They are pretty good if looked after, like anything treat it nice itll be nice to you, treat it bad and it'll be expensive. Enjoy what you have keep servicing up to scratch, like oil changes. And will last.

I do mine every 5000 miles, but that is just me.

GTR Cook 16 September 2011 11:36 PM

To back up what others have said, wait till it lets go, they are pretty good when looked after.