ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Voluntary Redundancy can you ask for it (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/888334-voluntary-redundancy-can-you-ask-for-it.html)

vallumlj 12 May 2011 09:01 PM

Voluntary Redundancy can you ask for it

My wife is expected our first child in October and she is planning on not going back to work and was just going to keep her company car till the end of her maternity pay then hand in her notice.

This has got us thinking could she be upfront and ask for voluntary redundancy and take the money?

Any advice would be good.

fitzscoob 12 May 2011 09:05 PM

Take what money? Is the company looking to downsize and reduce staff members regardless of your wifes pregnancy?

pslewis 12 May 2011 09:08 PM

I have been asking for it for 5 years!!!

Yes, you can ask - but you may only get the basic statutory minimum, which is pants!

Midlife...... 12 May 2011 11:19 PM

The short answer is no........ If they are not minded to offer voluntary redundancy then the only option is resignation and that will be covered in the Terms and Conditions of the contract of employment.

Employment law expects that there will be a return to work or resignation, not an attempt to get as much out of the system to the detriment of other employees.....

Shaun

PS Pissy.............you are almost the same age as me, give it a rest LOL

speedking 12 May 2011 11:40 PM

It is not a person that becomes redundant but a role. All employees with similar jobs would be pooled and the least suitable made redundant. It may not be fair for her to be the only one given the opportunity to lose her job.

Chip 13 May 2011 11:03 AM

Ive just taken voluntary redundancy hence me sitting here typing this.

Chip

Clarebabes 13 May 2011 12:34 PM