ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Computer & Technology Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/)
-   -   New Website (Content Management?) (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/848347-new-website-content-management.html)

GazTheHat 26 August 2010 01:49 PM

New Website (Content Management?)

A friend has asked me to do her a website. Now i've done a few over the years (all in notepad - being a techie) and i'm happy with them. If possible she would like to edit the content herself, which is where i'm out of my depth. I've seen sites with Wordpress and i think that was a step too far for her.

How does content management work? Is it software she needs, or is it something a host would provide??

I'm all for doing a static website for her if it's too complimicated, but i'm also intrigued by this WCM. (Being a DB Developer myself).

RichB 26 August 2010 02:17 PM

Look again at Word Press it is very good at this, personally I prefer to hand built and code but it is a very good tool. You can simplify the control panel as well so to only give the customer access to the pages... I think the plug in is called "simplify"...

GazTheHat 26 August 2010 03:05 PM

Is Wordpress dependant on the host though. I use Streamline for mine and there's no mention of WP on there.

Currently looking for some free web templates. Know any good sites? (A lot seem to be "free" until you come to download) ;)

hodgy0_2 26 August 2010 04:29 PM

proper enterprise content management software usually use a back end database to dynamicaly build the website

it also allows you to stage your changes before you "Publish" them to the live system

they are quite complex and can be expensive -- but allow rapid changes to content etc

http://www.vignette.com/us/About+Vignette

is one such product

ScoobyWon't 26 August 2010 07:33 PM