ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Exercising: can I.......... (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/812994-exercising-can-i.html)

alcazar 29 January 2010 06:55 PM

Exercising: can I..........

..........safely do situps/ab scruntches?

I slipped a disc in my neck last year and had to have the disc removed and the vertebrae fused. Seventh and eighth vertebrae. I know that doing situps, your neck needs to be held rigid too, and don't want to undo the op:eek:

Any advice gratefully received.

dpb 29 January 2010 07:08 PM

Id ask your physio !!

scoobymad555 29 January 2010 07:14 PM

well i'm no medical expert but my 2 cents worth ....

think I'd be wary of going all out on standard sit-ups without confirmation first from a physio or osteo (NOT a doctor - they aren't nearly as well qualified to advise on this sort of thing) but, there are other options - I'd reckon you should be ok to do them using one of the crunch-cradles so long as you're careful. A lot of gyms have removed them from the workout areas because they allow the person using them to not use the muscles in and around the neck area which you would usually use when doing a sit-up. That might actually be of benefit to you though.

Alternatively, use your legs to develop your abs instead. There are a number of exercises that can be done by laying flat on your back and lifting your legs (some straight leg and some tucked leg) instead and can give just as good results if done right.

It's a sucky video but it should give you an idea - YouTube - The Best Abdominal Exercises (3 of 4)

dunx 29 January 2010 07:18 PM

Hi Jeff,

I'm full of cold so won't be infecting you next week, sorry !

But while I'm here....

When I did my back in I used to do "soft" sit-ups.

1. Hook feet under end of bed frame...