ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   General Technical (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/)
-   -   Will i need my remote re programmed after fitting a prodrive ecu (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/760235-will-i-need-my-remote-re-programmed-after-fitting-a-prodrive-ecu.html)

wiseyd 17 April 2009 08:52 AM

Will i need my remote re programmed after fitting a prodrive ecu

Hi

I managed to pick up a prodrove ecu for my 1999 uk turbo yesterday. I'm really new to all this and thought i'd try it before i think about getting more mods done and a remap.

Does anyone know whether its just a plug and play or whether i'll need to get the keys reprogrammed, i though that they run off a separate alarm ecu.

batty2005batty 17 April 2009 10:33 AM

i think you will find that prodrive ecu's can not be remapped mate. (so i am tol )

AndyC_772 17 April 2009 10:39 AM

Not true, a Prodrive ECU for MY99 is really just a remapped standard one anyway. They were originally fitted on an exchange basis - you took the car to Prodrive, they swapped your standard ECU for the PPP one, then reprogrammed your ECU ready for the next car.

When PPP was fitted at Prodrive they did always insist on being given both sets of keys, so I've a feeling that the transponder in the key did have to be programmed into the ECU. This is quite separate to the key fob with the button, which is to do with the separate immobiliser.

Stevie-Sport 17 April 2009 10:43 AM

probably would have been wiser to ask the question before you bought it. IMHO

Dibs 17 April 2009 01:24 PM

Originally Posted by wiseyd (Post 8646191)
Hi

I managed to pick up a prodrove ecu for my 1999 uk turbo yesterday. I'm really new to all this and thought i'd try it before i think about getting more mods done and a remap.