ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Computer & Technology Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/)
-   -   Anyone code in VB.NET? (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/707107-anyone-code-in-vb-net.html)

SiDHEaD 19 August 2008 05:28 PM

Anyone code in VB.NET?
 
I've been using VB6 until recently as saw no benefit in attempting to move existing projects over.

However, I am now on a new one and we need to use a supplied .NET component, so I'm now forced into getting used to VB.NET ;)

I have a probably stupid problem (if you know .net) but I have a sub in a form module which references a button. For the sake of arguement let's say the sub is passed "strText", and a button id and it sets this buttons text as strText. So I have:

Code:

Public Sub CreateMapButton(ByVal strText As String, ByVal buttonid As Integer)

Dim theButton As Button

Diagnostics.Debug.Print("Creating button """ & strText & """ (buttonid=" & buttonid & ")

If buttonid = 1 Then
  theButton = butMap1
elseif. buttonid......


End If

theButton.Text = strText
theButton.Visible = True
Diagnostics.Debug.Print("Finished creating button")

End Sub

if I call this from another button in the form:

Code:

CreateMapButton("Test button", 1)
Then sure enough the text is set on the first button and the debug printout is as expected.

Now I have a function in another module which loads up a list of texts for said buttons from the database and then calls the sub above for each one. This prints the debug out as expected, but the button caption never changes.

This would work fine in vb6 (although yes I know the if - then - blahh to set the button control is a bit rubbish, this is only a lightweight in-house app).

Why is .NET being an arse and not changing the button properties when the sub is called from a proceedure which is external to the form?

TIA,

Andy

David_Wallis 19 August 2008 08:45 PM

have you tried specifying formname.buttonname?

or email me an example project and Ill take a look.

David

SiDHEaD 19 August 2008 11:51 PM

Yes i tried that, didnt work either.

I'll pack it up and send it over in the morning.

Cheers!

Fabioso 20 August 2008 12:04 AM

Crikey I didn't realise people still use VB6................dot Net has been around like at least half a decade..........

Dracoro 20 August 2008 09:45 AM

We still use VB, however our apps are being re-written in .NET (mainly C# rather than VB.net though).

Anyway, for many software houses, it simply may not be cost effective to port to .NET without serious financing. If it ain't broke, don't fix it etc. Bit like running an old car, plenty do it.

AllenJ 20 August 2008 02:34 PM

When you say another module, I take it you mean another class, if so,
reference the called class in the calling class to expose the function, create an instance of the class if it's not static and you should be good to go.

Coming from a VB 5.0/6.0 and Delphi background myself, i can well assure you, 6 years into .NET, it rocks.

If this is not helpful, please send me your code and I'll have a look. I'm off to Prague tomorrow so i may not check it till weekend.

Good luck

SiDHEaD 21 August 2008 01:23 PM

Just making a quick little test app to send and i notice 2 warnings which will hopefully make more sense to someone who knows what they are doing. Such a pain, VB6 was great for just knocking up apps for at work!!

SiDHEaD 21 August 2008 01:26 PM

Here is a cut down example (the proper one does more stuff to the button, theres more buttons, and its database driven).

http://www.sidtech.co.uk/andy/TempTest.zip

AllenJ 26 August 2008 12:48 AM

I'll have a look in the morning

SiDHEaD 26 August 2008 01:02 AM

Thanks! I'm at a bit of a loss, it just behaves so differently to VB6 in some respects (such as this hehe).

Much appreciated!

AllenJ 26 August 2008 01:37 AM

I've loaded the code in .NET and currently checking it out. Are button names built dynamically or is the difference the incremental value ?

AllenJ 26 August 2008 01:44 AM

With a little tweak in your code, i got th efollowing messages

Creating button "Test button 1" (buttonid=1)
Finished creating button
Creating button "Test button 2" (buttonid=2)
Finished creating button
Creating button "Test button 3" (buttonid=3)
Finished creating button

Is that what you are after ?

SiDHEaD 26 August 2008 09:06 AM

It should change the text on the button itself. The fact the debug prints out fine is what i dont understand, everything is running through as it should. The button text just never gets changed!! LOL

SiDHEaD 26 August 2008 09:07 AM

The buttons are not dynamically named, mainly as I didnt know that was possible.

AllenJ 26 August 2008 10:48 AM

Hi SidHead,

The text will not change until an event has been raised for that control.
If you add the text change command within the butMap1 click event, it will be actioned, to do so from Loadmap event, I think you'll need to raise the event through the use of 'delegate'.

If this has not been resolved by lunch time, let me know and I'll have another play around.

try this link
Event driven programming with Visual Basic .NET « –==PC==–

Another link on raising events

Using Class Events in VB.Net

Hopefully this will help.

SiDHEaD 27 August 2008 08:44 AM

I'm having problems. I see where the articles are coming from but I'm struggling to understand how to relate that to my simple bit of code that works in VB 6 - it shouldnt need events raising its just one sub calling another.

SiDHEaD 27 August 2008 08:54 AM

it's ok I've now narrowed it down to being the "Dim frm As New WindowsApplication1.Form1" in the module function. This can be removed fine in my sample one. But remove it in the real one and you cant find the CreateMapButton grrrrrrrr

I think it might be related to me changing the name on the form. I'll have a play.

Thanks


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22 PM.


© 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands