ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   How do I remove the radio? (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/704311-how-do-i-remove-the-radio.html)

Micky P 04 August 2008 07:22 PM

How do I remove the radio?

I have a MY99 sti import and i've got a new radio to fit into it.
I serched all of the ICE forum and googled it but i cannot find out how to remove the old one (standard). It is a double dinn size.

Do i need to remove any trim panals to get to any screws?

Desprate for any help as i am a scooby newbie!

Thanks Mike

Micky P 04 August 2008 07:59 PM

Anyone?

mickywrx 04 August 2008 08:09 PM

A bit impatient aren't you ;)

Yours is a newer car than mine so I don't know the specifics, but in the pic below,

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i7...gaitor0008.jpg

You need to remove the hard plastic gear/radio surround. Mine I pull the cup holder out to access the screws to remove that, yours I don't know.

Then you have to unscrew the cage holding the head unit etc etc. It's pretty straight forward once you get get the trim panel off, well on mine it is.

Sorry I can't be of more help, sure someone will be along soon enough with a later car to advise better.

Micky P 04 August 2008 10:58 PM

LOl yeah sorry, had been serching this and other forums to find out but was having no luck.

Thanks for your reply, yours scooby looks diffrent to mine. But i have managed to get the trim around the radio (and a/c controls) partly off but it seemslike i have to remove a part of the gearstick trim to get it fully off.

Thanks mickywrx
Mike

simb 2 05 August 2008 09:12 AM

Originally Posted by Micky P (Post 8049386)
LOl yeah sorry, had been serching this and other forums to find out but was having no luck.