ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Computer & Technology Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/)
-   -   Web design for complete newbie (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/647778-web-design-for-complete-newbie.html)

cookstar 15 November 2007 02:40 PM

Web design for complete newbie

This is something I really fancy learning how to do. Have done for a while. I have quite a lot of spare time at work on nights and this could be quite a good project/hobbie for me.

As I say I am a complete newb, so have no idea where to start.

Has anyone got any sudgestions or ideas where I could start.

Cheers

Cookie

kilo_4que 15 November 2007 02:48 PM

Well, get to master photoshop. I have been working as a web designer/developer since 2001, my way of working is to always design in photoshop. Get the concept spot one and once you are happy with it, slice and build in Dreamweaver.

So two essential software packages you would need are Photoshop and Dreamweaver. Although since you are new to it and Photoshop maybe a little too much to experience straight away, try using Fireworks or something. Keep your designs as simple as possible.

cookstar 15 November 2007 02:49 PM

And wheres the best place to get these packages?

kilo_4que 15 November 2007 02:53 PM

Originally Posted by cookstar (Post 7412453)
And wheres the best place to get these packages?

There are various places online. I used to get my software from Pugh but the only reason was as I used to get it very cheap through the company I used to work for. You can if i remember correctly buy fomr Adobe direct since they have bought out Macromedia who make Dreamweaver, Flash Fireworks etc There are various other companies online too but be prepared for the prices. They are not cheap software packages

DJ Dunk 15 November 2007 02:56 PM