ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Tax implications for a pick-up truck (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/645760-tax-implications-for-a-pick-up-truck.html)

zip106 05 November 2007 08:24 PM

Tax implications for a pick-up truck

I'm a sole trader and have an L200 double cab.
If I use it 100% for work purposes can I claim 100% taxable benefits?
Okay, I do a few private miles in it, but then again when I had a normal van I also did private miles in that but it was never questioned because it was a commercial vehicle.
I've been told different things by (a). my accountant and (b). HMRC :rolleyes:
I've been led to believe that because it is capable of carrying passengers it won't be classed as a commercial vehicle (even though it has a payload of 1045kg) therefore I need to log every journey, purpose of that journey, start mileage, finish mileage and private mileage.
Does anyone know anything about this?
Your help is muchly appreciated :thumb:

Simon K 06 November 2007 07:31 AM

Mmm Im not too clued up here but with these types of cars, I was told that you have a straight £500 tax cost, i.e. benefit in kind. I did look at a L200, and its due to the £500 tax costs, but I was told the rule was going to change.

If the vehicle was 100% for work use only, then its a pool car, and should be left at work. If that is the case, then the tax implications are different.

Thats what I was told a year or so ago, and it may have changed totally now. In the end, I never went for a company car (im a ltd company), instead use my private car, but claim back the mileage, which works out better.

So if my description is all wishy / washy, company cars, tax stuff, never been something Ive fully understod.

SBK

Scooby Soon! 06 November 2007 07:57 AM

If your accountant cant explain then its time for a new one!