ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Any smallholder farmers on here? (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/551911-any-smallholder-farmers-on-here.html)

scoobynutta555 17 October 2006 04:02 PM

Any smallholder farmers on here?

A bit of a long shot being a haven for tech heads, but I'll give it a go anyway ;)

I was just wondering if there were any smallholding farmers on here and what their experiences were. I have recently inherited a long disused farm and am interested to get something up and running again. It’s quite a small farm, circa 15 acres. I have no previous experience of farming, so am quite ignorant in everything to do with farming really. Any experiences from others that have similar sized farms would be great.

I’m not looking to make fortunes out of this, just enough to live off of without hitting the breadline. Is there any help through grants etc? The farm is in the Republic of Ireland

DCI Gene Hunt 17 October 2006 04:25 PM

Pigs have curly cocks as well as curly tails...........HTH :)

scoobynutta555 17 October 2006 04:31 PM

Advice from smallfarmholders not smallcockholders please ;)

BOB.T 17 October 2006 04:37 PM

I used to have a small farm, loved it! :cool:

http://www.salixonline.co.uk/toys/oaktreefarmmid.JPG

Scooby Soon! 17 October 2006 05:59 PM

My cousin works for an accountants that only does farm and estate accounts, she says nearly every single one makes a loss or barely breaks even but obviously they have allowances for running cars and farm houses etc

Machinery is all expensive as well!

But I do know a family of farmers who own around £1,000,000 of new cars and sub contract the farm work out to other people because there is hardly any money to be made unless you have a lot of land tp keep operating costs low.

DCI Gene Hunt 17 October 2006 06:03 PM