ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   E39 BMW M5 (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/546000-e39-bmw-m5.html)

Edcase 23 September 2006 10:37 PM

E39 BMW M5

Seeing lots of these around MY2000 with 75-100k miles, FBMWSH for about £12k!

Seems crazy, what's the catch?

What should I look for on these cars?

Edcase 23 September 2006 10:39 PM

Oops can you tell I've had a few glasses of wine? I thought I was in Other Marques, can someone please move it there for me? :rolleyes:;)

SPEN555 23 September 2006 10:56 PM

err, out of warranty.

I am no expert but I am forever reading bad reports about the M power cars and the vanos system. The vanos system on the M5 is supposed to cost a fortune! IIRC £8K plus!!! on an M5.

Probably why BMW are now turbocharging vehicles, a lot cheaper and ultimately more reliable than the vanos system,

p.s. I have been drinking too so excuse any bad spelling lol! :D

All MHO of course :D

AudiLover 23 September 2006 11:01 PM

The turbo units still use vanos

Edcase 23 September 2006 11:08 PM

I always thought the Vanos was largely an M3 problem?

SPEN555 23 September 2006 11:15 PM

Originally Posted by AudiLover
The turbo units still use vanos

imho, that seems stupid as it's making a more complicated engine when they have not made the vanos unit reliable so potentially creating further problems.

Generic User 23 September 2006 11:20 PM

Sod the vanos...wait til the valvetronic goes belly up (not fitted to e39 btw) :p