ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   Older subaru GL (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/532397-older-subaru-gl.html)

Anticamper 29 July 2006 03:20 AM

Older subaru GL

basicly i have a 87-89 subaru GL. not sure the exact year but i can get it soon. anyways i know its not a goddly WRX, but i want to know what i can do to this car in terms of performance. i am completely new to automotive stuff. but yea a few questions:

i was wondering is it even possible to put a newer engine. i belive someone mentioned an ej20 to me? i dunno

also the car has 4wd, what would it take(time and money) to make this AWD? Is it even possible?

realy would it be worth the money to try and revive an older subaru?

i realy would love to take an old nothing car, and make it into something. i would love to completely gut the car and put lots of new stuff in it but i am not sure of its capibilities.

anyways it seems there isn't a single pic on google of my subaru, a few almost looked simmular but yea they were like 3:4 pixels total lol. i am a complete newb to this sorta stuff so be gentle ^___^

chocolate_o_brian 29 July 2006 03:47 AM

also the car has 4wd, what would it take(time and money) to make this AWD? Is it even possible?
awd is 4wd mate, no offence lol. same thing im lead to believe. good luck with your project though. oh and ej20 is the 2 litre engine in most scoobs, whether n/a or turbocharged. im welcome to corrections if im wrong :lol1:

Anticamper 29 July 2006 04:05 AM

naw man no offense takin. i know AWD pretty much is 4WD, but see the 4WD doesn't run all the time so yea. i want to know more about that and ok so would this ej20 fit it an older gl? found a pic thats close to mine btw:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2381512