ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   General Technical (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/)
-   -   De-cat trouble (https://www.scoobynet.com/general-technical-10/469684-de-cat-trouble.html)

Harper1 08 November 2005 08:22 PM

De-cat trouble

i'm fairly new to the scooby scene. I picked up my 1996 STi RA about a month ago and have loved every second. But like every one does..... i got hungry for more power and stuck the car in for a de-cat downpipe. its the type with the the open neck at the turbo, which i thought would be the best.

However, i picked it up tonight - de-cat intact - and am not impressed with it at all. Its lacking power, it backfires, it splutters if i really plant the foot. it has less power than before.

When i bought the car i was told it was chipped, looking at all the paperwork that came with the car, i've found a little booklet that says "booster chips". so i'm assuming thats the type of chip.

It feels like if i had enough road, it would be faster than ever, but the power is just not there, it doesnt throw me into my seat like it used to.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
cheers

Kyle

vulnax999 09 November 2005 12:16 AM

I think you need a remap, to get the ECU to work properly with the engine and mods, no idea on the chip / ecu mods you have, maybe some one on here will!
Sounds like it's over fuelling so fuel is "pop" ing at the exhaust .
Too much fuel may mean less power .. think of the bunsen burner in school chemistry .. open the air it gets blue-r and hotter! Close the air off and it gets yellow and weaker flame.

tath 09 November 2005 02:38 AM

is/was the lambda in the downpipe?

vulnax999 09 November 2005 06:36 PM

Early cars had Lambda sensor in the up headers by the joint with the up-pipe. Later cars ( certainly UK 1996 cars ) had the lambda in the downpipe post turbo

Harper1 09 November 2005 07:15 PM