ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Washer Installation For Dummies (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/466792-washer-installation-for-dummies.html)

G-STAR 27 October 2005 02:06 PM

Washer Installation For Dummies

I'm currently trying to install a washer in the basement of our student house, but I've come across a rather major problem. Basically, when everything is connected up (see pictures below), the washer refuses to fill with water. I've tried everything I can think of; checking the water tap, cleaning filters, checking connections, etc., but there's probably a glaring error somewhere. This is my first time trying to install a washer, so please forgive my stupidity.

Below you'll find a couple of images - does that look correct, or am I missing something?

http://www.imusicmovement.com/work/washer.jpg

MattW 27 October 2005 02:09 PM

Check the washer end of those hoses, if it's new there may be stoppers that require removal.

Chip Sengravy 27 October 2005 02:10 PM

a piss take sureley?

you have both hot and cold washer feeds on the cold water main?

Bottomfeeder 27 October 2005 02:15 PM

Originally Posted by Chip Sengravy
a piss take sureley?

As long as the wasing machine has a heating element in it, the only issue that'll cause is wash cycles taking longer.

As for the chaps initial query, it could be down to the water presure not being good enough.

G-STAR 27 October 2005 02:17 PM

Originally Posted by Chip Sengravy
a piss take sureley?

According to instructions; "Both pipes may be connected to the cold water tap using the special 'Y' connection with multiple attachments, supplied with the appliance". Which is what you see in the images.

MattW - The washer has been used before, but not in this house.

Scooby-Doo 27 October 2005 02:19 PM