ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Computer & Technology Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/)
-   -   What Software Would You Say Is a "Must Have"? (https://www.scoobynet.com/computer-and-technology-related-34/278464-what-software-would-you-say-is-a-must-have.html)

V5 04 December 2003 05:05 PM

Ok, confession! I'm a newbie to the whole "home computing" thing! :eek: I was about to buy one years ago when I got given a laptop by work, and have used that for getting on t'internet ever since.

Now that I do have a home computer (and broadband :D), I'm after recommendations of software/apps/etc to make it all fantastico! I guess I just want to make sure I get the best out of it!!

Even numptie old me knows Napster is no more, so what's the best thing out there? Is Kazaa just a spyware/virus ridden piece of kit? And talking of spyware and viruses - what would you use to combat them.

So, in essence, what bits of software couldn't you do without?

Thanks
Iain

Scott W 04 December 2003 05:24 PM

Firewall and Anti-Virus stuff first and foremost. ;):D Zonealarm is a good package for the home PC - especially as it's free! :D

I user WinMX at home instead of Kazaa, but I'm sure other people will come forward with their thoughts, for example, Kazaa Lite, etc.....

For Spyware package, look at Ad-aware (there is another but I cannot remember it at this moment in time).

Next up is some online gaming games! :D

mj 04 December 2003 05:37 PM

spybot is the other one like adaware.

paint shop pro is cheap enough ( see Kazzalite) for pi55ing about with piccies.

You also must have at least one good 1st person shhoter on the PC :D

...and for stress releif I could not be with out broadband and jedi knight - chopping up newbies with a double ended lightsaber is a must after a crappy day at work.

and scoobynet/ebay of course :)

[Edited by mj - 12/4/2003 5:37:35 PM]