ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Connected to Vodafone Live by accident all night! (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/274752-connected-to-vodafone-live-by-accident-all-night.html)

rob oneill 23 November 2003 11:21 PM

Ive got a GX10i and it is very easy to connect to Live by accident.
After a few beers last night I accidently connected without knowing. Didnt realise until I looked at it at 10AM today, it was probably connected from about 2AM thismorning!! :(
Cant find the charges on their website, anyone like to guess how much my drunken mistake is going to cost me?

Thanks, Rob

Fatman 23 November 2003 11:34 PM

I'm not an expert, but I was under the impression that you pay per bit/byte of data. If the phone was idle (i.e. not downloading tones, pics etc) then it might not be so bad as all that???

SiDHEaD 23 November 2003 11:44 PM

Correct, GPRS is on the amount downloaded. Not time connected. I just leave mine connected all the time. It charges by MegaByte.

Andy

Jon H 23 November 2003 11:46 PM

howdy Rob!
It depends on how you access voda live. If its gprs then it won't cost you a penny but if its gsm dialup then thats gonna sting you!

J

Sith 23 November 2003 11:49 PM

M8 did this by mistake aswell. Ooohhh, his bill hurt.

mart360 23 November 2003 11:51 PM

did the same on my spv and it was for 24hrs!!!!

phoned orange who wernt that helpfull (numpty)

just said note the date you want to contest!!

got the bill through ... no charge

as earlier people have said... gprs...you only pay for data downloaded not to connect..

ring voda and let em know.. just in case

Mart

SiDHEaD 24 November 2003 12:12 AM

oh, my friend has voda live and its over GPRS, didn't realise they had a WAP version - if you were using that, then yes it may well hurt :eek:

Andy

NotoriousREV 24 November 2003 08:33 AM