ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   PLEASE READ......................! (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/260646-please-read.html)

"MADDOG" 15 October 2003 08:40 PM

Well guys, I have finally come over to the "dark side". Yes, today I have taken delivery of my own "weapon of mass destruction" - a new WRX STi. I would just like to say that I am most impressed with the bulletin board and all of its users. In past experiences with other car clubs (naming no names), the bulletin board has quite often been a place where people just slag each other off and make a nuisance of themselves. Not so Scobbynet - hat's off to all its users. As I am a Scoobie novice I will be asking questions, some of which are so simple to yourselves, but then again we all have to start somewhere. So any help with any queries would be much appreciated. Ps - here is the first one - what does a "knocklink" do? Once you have all picked yourselves up from the floor and wiped the tears of laughter from your eyes your advice would be much appreciated.

regards "MADDOG"

pugoetru 15 October 2003 08:47 PM

you have not been in muppets yet then:D

( R6 CDW ) 15 October 2003 08:58 PM

Basically, its a sensor that bolts to your engine block and via a series of LED's, it will inform you of any pre-detonation (pinking,knocking).
This can wreck your engine over time. It's to do with the octane rating of our fuel, compared to what imports are designed to run on.
So if you got a jap import, then best have one.

Welcome from the darkside, you'll meet plenty other x-darksiders.

cheer
chris

"MADDOG" 15 October 2003 09:02 PM

Cheers Chris :)

Floyd 15 October 2003 09:03 PM

Sensible forum? I think you took a wrong turn somewhere!

Try the SIDC forum if you want sane behaviour.

F

talizman 15 October 2003 09:04 PM

Welcome Mad dog! :D