ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   Can I ask a big favour from someone in the know? (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/252513-can-i-ask-a-big-favour-from-someone-in-the-know.html)

Madason2k 20 September 2003 04:45 PM

Hi,

I went down to Manchester the other week to have a look at a Impreza Turbo that I had taken a fancy to.

When I arrived and had a look around it needed some TLC on the wheels and a new spot light on the right but apart from that it looked tidy but needed a clean under the bonnet.

I then took it for a drive round the block and I must say I wasn’t impressed with the performance it didn’t seem to have the power of other turbo cars I had drove such as the Nissan 200SX for example.

I must say I am new to buying turbo cars and have being driving a BMW 318IS 16Valve which seemed to have the same performance.

Anyway what I want to ask is if there is someone based in the M20 area that knows how these cars should feel that wouldn’t mind giving me a second opinion on whether this car is Good or Bad.

I know it’s a bit cheeky but I don’t know what else to do as I cant buy a car until I know the engine is correct, for example the turbo is working. (because it didn’t feel like it to me)

Here is what I know about the car,

1998, R reg. 88000 miles, forest green, FSSH, MOT, HPi clear, good condition, UK spec.

Thanks
G Walker

chrisp 20 September 2003 04:57 PM

Maybe goto to your local dealer and test drive a couple before making a decision. Thats quite a common car so there should be something similar.

alcazar 20 September 2003 05:14 PM

I've got the "S" reg version of that car, and even before I sarted modding, there was no comparison between that car and the Beemer you quote. Mine would easily leave a 325i.
alcazar

Boro 20 September 2003 05:16 PM