ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   Advice on CV's and Graduate Jobs (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/208590-advice-on-cvs-and-graduate-jobs.html)

Defiant STI 13 May 2003 10:48 AM

I finish University in a few weeks and unfortunetly the company I was going back to after my placement year went under (after 25 years) so I need a job. Fingers crossed i'll graduate with a first or 2-1 in Software Engineering w/ Honours.

Could anyone give me some good advice as to what to include in my CV etc or give me any good examples or links. Management advice would be particularly helpful. I lost my old CV when my last PC died and the recriutment agencies are hassling me for them ;)

Alternatively any advice on getting a good graduate job would also be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

SWRTWannabe 13 May 2003 10:51 AM

When I graduated, because I didn't have relevant work experience, I did a side of A4 that had a brief description of each of the courses I had studied and enclosed that with my CV. Whether or not it helped, I don't know, but it does show employers your interests and (hopefully) skills!

Good luck!

Badger Stuffer 13 May 2003 10:52 AM

Go here and click on their CV Guru service. Worth looking at.

Jason.

:D

MarkO 13 May 2003 10:55 AM

Quick tip - you mention graduating with a Software Engineering degree, but also use the 'M'-word. If you are seriously intending to go into development project management, get some hands-on technical experience first (i.e., get a development job).

As a seasoned developer I can tell you that if you try to waltz into a development project as a manager, fresh from graduating, you'll get little or no respect from anyone. :rolleyes: